

Minutes of Annual General Meeting Held at Hunter Wetlands Centre, Shortland, NSW 14th February 2024

Meeting opened 1900 hrs by Presiding Officer Dan Williams

Present- 51 members were present.

All members, new members and guests present were welcomed to the 2024 Annual General Meeting.

- 1. Apologies: Alan Stuart, Greg & Judy little, Jim Smart, Ann, Michelle Keith, Jess Logan-Warner.
- 2. Confirmation of the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 8th February 2023, previously circulated on HBOC website, were read by the Secretary, Margaret Clarke. Members were then asked to move that the 2023 AGM Minutes be accepted as read. Moved by, A. Karpiel, seconded by Rowley Smith- Motion Carried.
- **3.** Confirmation of the minutes of the Special General Meeting held 8th February 2023 To approve a revised Constitution, previously circulated. Members were then asked to move that the 2023 SGM Minutes be accepted as read. Moved by, R. Smith, seconded by D Garnet. **Motion Carried.**
- 4. The Annual Financial Report for 2023 was then presented by Treasurer Helen McCall Of note during the year; there are now 342 members. The Wilma Barden Grant has been awarded in 2023 and a new award, the Sue and Ed Hamonet Memorial Award for Excellence, funded by donations. This year HBOC also hosted the annual BigNet Conference. Helen McCall moved that the 2023 Treasurers Report be accepted, seconded by Darren Foster. Motion Carried.
- 5. **The Annual Report of the HBOC Management Committee for 2023** was tabled by Dan Williams (President) and a brief overview given. Dan thanked the many volunteers who assisted with HBOC activities and gave an overview of same. Noted that Education and Promotion Activities had increased and that HBOC drones had been used for Bittern and Shorebird monitoring. The Wilma Barden Grant has been awarded to Judy Little (\$2000) this year. Noted that a new website was being developed. The full report can be found on the website.

Members were asked to move that the 2023 Annual Report of the HBOC Management Committee be accepted. Moved by R Smith and seconded by H McCall. **Motion Carried**

6. Election of President and Office Bearers

The outgoing President, Dan Williams, declared all positions vacant and vacated the chair to allow the 2024 election to be conducted.

The Returning Officer, Ann Lindsey then took the Chair. Ann thanked the outgoing committee for their efforts and Members were asked to show their appreciation to the outgoing committee by a round of applause.

a) Nominations for Office Bearers for 2024 were then read.

President: A written nomination was received in advance for the position of President from Dan Williams. (Nominated by D Garnett and seconded by H McCall). Dan had indicated his willingness to serve as President and as no other nominations were received **Dan Williams was declared as elected President for 2024.**

Vice President: A written nomination was received in advance for the position of Vice President from Mick Roderick. (Nominated by R Kyte and seconded by D Garnett). Mick had indicated his willingness to serve as Vice President. As no other nominations were received **Mick Roderick was declared as elected Vice President for 2024.**

Secretary: A written nomination was received in advance for the position of Secretary from Margaret Clarke (nominated by J Little and seconded by G little). Margaret had indicated her willingness to serve as Secretary. As no other nominations were received **Margaret Clarke was declared as elected Secretary for 2024.**

Treasurer: A written nomination was received in advance for the position of Treasurer from Helen McCall (nominated by R Kyte and seconded by L Date-Huxtable}. As no further nominations were received and she had indicated her willingness to serve as Treasurer, **Helen McCall was declared as elected Treasurer for 2024.**

b) Nominations for Committee Members for 2024 were then read.

Committee Members (maximum of six)

Written nominations received in advance for the position of Committee member were tabled: They were Judith Little, Rob Kyte, Drew Garnett, Louise Williams, Greg Little, Phil Straw.

Those nominated all indicated their willingness to serve as Committee members and as there were no further nominations, Judith, Rob, Louise, Drew, Phil, and Greg were elected as Committee members for 2024.

There being no further business the Annual General Meeting was closed at 1945 hrs on 14 February 2024.

Margaret Clarke

Secretary HBOC

Minutes approved on

Signature of Chairman